¿Qué es EUROCALL? EUROCALL: Beca János Kohn

Beca János Kohn

The János Kohn Scholarship

The János Kohn Scholarship commemorates and celebrates the life and work of János Kohn, a highly valued and respected EUROCALL colleague who died in March 1999.

The annual scholarship enables a young teacher or researcher permanently based in one of the Central European member states listed below* to participate in a EUROCALL conference by providing €400 towards the cost of attendance. The Scholarship may not be held more than once by the same person.

Candidates who have a background and interest in computer-assisted or technology-enhanced language learning are invited to apply before the deadline of 31st January to attend the EUROCALL conference in that year.

Applicants should provide brief details including name, address (including e-mail if possible), academic qualifications and current occupation, together with a short statement (between 500 and 1,000 words in English, French or German) in support of their application for the Scholarship. Preference will be given to candidates who are either enrolled on a relevant postgraduate course, or who are actively engaged in research, and have hitherto been unable to obtain funding to attend overseas conferences. As the predominant language of EUROCALL conferences is English, candidates will need to provide evidence of competence in English.

The EUROCALL Academic Panel will inform candidates of their decision by 30 April. Candidates who wish to offer a Paper, Show and Tell or Poster should submit this separately in accordance with the information on the conference website. The decision on whether or not to accept the submission will not affect the decision regarding the Scholarship.

Please send your application, preferably by e-mail as an attached RTF document, to:

School of Languages, Literatures and Cultures
University of Ulster
Northern Ireland
BT52 1SA

Email: eurocall@ulster.ac.uk

All applications will be acknowledged by e-mail.

* Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia

NB: Applications from young teachers or researchers permanently based in one of the pending European member states will be considered in the event that no appropriate application is received from within the member states listed.